Twelve Muqam (Shí‘èr Mùkǎmǔ 十二木卡姆)


The Twelve Muqam are a suite of songs of the Uygur people of northwestern China’s Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region. The pieces may be sung, danced, or instrumental, and may be performed individually or in small groups. Their lyrics are drawn from many sources, including Persian, Turkic, and folk poetry, although the actual origins of the Muqam are hazy. The lyrics are often infused with Sufi imagery.

The Uygur* people of northwestern China’s….

Log in or register to continue reading.

By | 2014-12-16T16:54:28+00:00 January 22nd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, History, Arts, and Culture, Music|Comments Off on Twelve Muqam (Shí‘èr Mùkǎmǔ 十二木卡姆)

About the Author: