View of Huangshan (Mount Huang) in Anhui Province. PHOTO BY JOAN LEBOLD COHEN.

Anhui is a small, land-locked province in eastern China about the size of the state of North Carolina. The province boasts a rich cultural history; many of China’s most important ancient philosophers and several types of traditional Chinese opera were born there.

Anhui was officially established as a province in 1667 during the Qing dynasty (1644–1912). The word “Anhui” is a portmanteau word derived from

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:54:21-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Geography, Region|Comments Off on Anhui Province (Ānhuī Shěng 安徽省)|Ānhuī Shěng 安徽省 (Anhui Province)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: