Yamin XU

Based on Sun Yat-sen’s (1866–1925) idealistic model of the new republic that was introduced to replace the ancient Chinese imperial system, the five-yuan (five branch) system of government was adopted under the Guomindang (GMD) in 1928 for China and remains the basic polity for today’s Taiwan.

As the Qing dynasty (1644–1912) in the late nineteenth century became increasingly impotent to handle both international and domestic crises China faced, some Chinese elite began

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:53:52-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Governance, System|Comments Off on Five-Yuan System (Wǔyuànzhì 五院制)|Wǔyuànzhì 五院制 (Five-Yuan System)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: