The grasslands of Inner Mongolia. PHOTO BY YIXUAN SHUKE.

Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region, or Nei Monggol, is one of five such regions in China with a large percentage of ethnic minorities, and the first to be established (in 1947), predating the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949. It is slightly smaller than South Africa in area and is dominated by vast grasslands.

Bordering on the Mongolian People’s Republic

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:54:20-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Geography, Region|Comments Off on Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region (Nèiměnggǔ 内蒙古)|Nèiměnggǔ 内蒙古 (Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: