Shaanxi Province (not to be confused with neighboring Shanxi Province, which has a comparable population) is a mostly mountainous northwestern province about twice the size of Iceland. The capitals of the Qin, Han, and Tang dynasties were located near the capital city of Xi’an. In 1935 the Chinese Communist Party established its headquarters in Yan’an on the northern plateau. Important agricultural products are millet, wheat, rice, and tubers.

The northwestern Chinese

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:54:19-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Geography, Region|Comments Off on Shaanxi Province (Shǎnxī Shěng 陕西省)|Shǎnxī Shěng 陕西省 (Shaanxi Province)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: