Although the Spratly Islands in the South China Sea cover barely 5 square kilometers of dry land, they are a focus of international boundary disputes due to their strategic location. China, Taiwan, Malaysia, Vietnam, and the Philippines all lay claim to all or part of the archipelago; Brunei claims fishing rights to part of the area, as well.

The Spratly Islands (Nansha qundao in Chinese) include about one hundred reefs and islets totaling less than 5

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:53:57-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Governance, International Relations|Comments Off on Spratly Islands Dispute (Nánshāqúndǎo zhēngduān南沙群岛争端)|Nánshāqúndǎo zhēngduān南沙群岛争端 (Spratly Islands Dispute)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: