Portrait of Sun Yat-sen. China honors Sun as the father of the republic.

Sun Yat-sen was a revolutionary leader and founder of Republican China (1912–1949). An uprising in 1911 resulted in his election as provisional president of the new republic and the abdication of the Qing dynasty emperor in 1912. He devised what he called the “Three People’s Principles” for the new republic: nationalism, democracy, and livelihood. Those principles are

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:54:04-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Biography, Governance|Comments Off on SUN Yat-sen (Sūn Zhōngshān 孙中山)|Sūn Zhōngshān 孙中山 (SUN Yat-sen)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: