Winberg CHAI

The economically dynamic island of Taiwan, officially known as the Republic of China, is considered by mainland China to be China’s twenty-third province. Most of Taiwan’s 22 million citizens prefer the status quo: de facto independence from the People’s Republic of China, but with ever-increasing economic and social ties to the mainland.

Taiwan, or as it is known by its official name, the Republic of China (Zhong-hua min-guo, in Mandarin), is a hot spot in today’s

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:54:20-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Geography, Region|Comments Off on Taiwan (Republic of China) (Táiwān (Zhōnghuá mínguó) 台湾 (中华民国))|Táiwān (Zhōnghuá mínguó) 台湾 (中华民国) (Taiwan (Republic of China))

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: