Margaret Mian YAN

The Min dialect group is the most divergent and complicated of China’s seven major languages. At least six Min subdialect groups exist.

Min is a geographic short term for “Fujian Province” in China. It is named after the largest river “Min jiang” 闽江 in the province. Chinese dialectologists have used Min for decades as a linguistic term refering to the Min dialects. Among the seven major Chinese languages—Mandarin, Min, Wu, Yue, Gan, Hakka, and Xiang—the

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:53:47-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Language and Learning, Linguistics|Comments Off on Min (Mǐn fāngyán 闽方言)|Mǐn fāngyán 闽方言 (Min)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: