Alex McKAY

A Tibetan girl in traditional dress stands in a courtyard with intricately painted pillars.

Tibet—“the Roof of the World”—is one of China’s five autonomous regions. A distinction is made between “political” Tibet, the area governed by the Lhasa government before 1950, and “ethnic” or “cultural” Tibet, the area inhabited by mainly Buddhist people of Tibetan origin. Tibet has been the focus of international attention because of calls for increased autonomy or

Please Login to view this content. (Not a member? Join Today!)
By |2014-12-16T16:54:19-05:00January 23rd, 2012|Berkshire Encyclopedia of China, Geography, Region|Comments Off on Tibet (Xizang) Autonomous Region (Xīzàng Zìzhìqū 西藏自治区)|Xīzàng Zìzhìqū 西藏自治区 (Tibet (Xizang) Autonomous Region)

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: